Music on Stage

Jim Morrison – Celebration Of The Lizard

Lions in the street and roaming 
Dogs in heat, rabid, foaming 
A beast caged in the heart of a city 
The body of his mother 
Rotting in the summer ground 
He fled the town 

He went down South and crossed the border 
Left the chaos and disorder 
Back there over his shoulder 

One morning he awoke in a green hotel 
With a strange creature groaning beside him 
Sweat oozed from its shiny skin 

Is everybody in? 
The ceremony is about to begin 

Wake up! 
You can’t remember where it was 
Had this dream stopped? 
The snake was pale gold 
Glazed and shrunken 
We were afraid to touch it 
The sheets were hot dead prisons 

Now, run to the mirror in the bathroom 
Look! 
I can’t live thru each slow century of her moving 
I let my cheek slide down 
The cool smooth tile 
Feel the good cold stinging blood 
The smooth hissing snakes of rain . . . 

Once I had, a little game 
I liked to crawl back into my brain 
I think you know the game I mean 
I mean the game called ‘go insane’ 
Now you should try this little game 
Just close your eyes forget your name 
Forget the world forget the people 
And we’ll erect a different steeple 
This little game is fun to do 
Just close your eyes no way to lose 
And I’m right there I’m going too 
Release control we’re breaking thru 

Way back deep into the brain 
Back where there’s never any pain 
And the rain falls gently on the town 
And in the labyrinth of streams 
Beneath, the quiet unearthly presence of 
Nervous hill dwellers in the gentle hills around 
Reptiles abounding 
Fossils, caves, cool air heights 

Each house repeats a mold 
Windows rolled 
Beast car locked in against morning 
All now sleeping 
Rugs silent, mirrors vacant 
Dust blind under the beds of lawful couples 
Wound in sheets 
And daughters, smug 
With semen eyes in their nipples 

Wait 
There’s been a slaughter here 

(Don’t stop to speak or look around 
Your gloves and fan are on the ground 
We’re getting out of town 
We’re going on the run 
And you’re the one I want to come 

Not to touch the earth 
Not to see the sun 
Nothing left to do, but 
Run, run, run 
Let’s run 
House upon the hill 
Moon is lying still 
Shadows of the trees 
Witnessing the wild breeze 
C’mon baby run with me 
Let’s run 
Run with me 
Run with me 
Run with me 
Let’s run 

The mansion is warm, at the top of the hill 
Rich are the rooms and the comforts there 
Red are the arms of luxuriant chairs 
And you won’t know a thing till you get inside 
Dead president’s corpse in the driver’s car 
The engine runs on glue and tar 
C’mon along, we’re not going very far 
To the East to meet the Czar 

Some outlaws lived by the side of the lake 
The minister’s daughter’s in love with the snake 
Who lives in a well by the side of the road 
Wake up, girl! We’re almost home 
Sun, sun, sun 
Burn, burn, burn 
Soon, soon, soon 
Moon, moon, moon 
I will get you 
Soon!, Soon!, Soon! 

Let the carnival bells ring 
Let the serpent sing 
Let everything 

We came down 
The rivers and highways 
We came down from 
Forests and falls 

We came down from 
Carson and Springfield 
We came down from 
Phoenix enthralled 
And I can tell you 
The names of the Kingdom 
I can tell you 
The things that you know 
Listening for a fistful of silence 
Climbing valleys into the shade 

I am the Lizard King 
I can do anything 
I can make the earth stop in its tracks 
I made the blue cars go away 

For seven years I dwelt 
In the loose palace of exile 
Playing strange games 
With the girls of the island 
Now I have come again 
To the land of the fair, and the strong, and the wise 
Brothers and sisters of the pale forest 
O Children of Night 
Who among you will run with the hunt? 
Now Night arrives with her purple legion 
Retire now to your tents and to your dreams 
Tomorrow we enter the town of my birth 
I want to be ready’ 

Leave a Reply

