Daily Archives: February 13, 2014

Marie and Pierre Curie

The life of Marie and Pierre Curie is not only marked by the great discovery that led them to win the Nobel Prize, but it was mainly defined by their great love story.
Marie’s childhood was difficult, he had to fight for his education, he was perhaps for this reason that Pierre Curie, seeing it the first time in the lab thought it was an extraordinary person.
Pierre had been attracted by his grace and his conduct devoid of malice, he was totally fascinated by that girl so brave and devoted to his work.
They married a year later, in 1895 after Pierre finally managed to convince the stubborn Marie to give in to his advances.
In addition to many years of working together, this pair of scientists gave birth to two daughters, Irène and Eve, the first of which in turn became Nobel Prize.
The couple devoted much of their lives to research on radioactivity, which in 1903 awarded him the Nobel Prize for Physics.
Pierre could not instead pick up the next Nobel Prize for Chemistry awarded to Marie for the discovery of new elements, as in 1906 he was run over by a wagon, leaving a great void in the world of science, and especially in the heart of Marie.
Marie Curie died in 1934, after years of hard work, but it marked his long departure.

Marie e Pierre Curie

La vita di Marie e Pierre Curie non è solo segnata dalla grande scoperta che li ha portati a vincere il premio Nobel, ma è stata soprattutto definita dalla loro grande storia d’amore.
L’infanzia di Marie era stata difficile, aveva dovuto lottare per la sua istruzione, fu forse per questo che Pierre Curie, vedendola la prima volta in laboratorio pensò fosse una persona straordinaria.
Pierre era stato attratto dalla sua grazia e dal suo comportamento privo di cattiveria, era totalmente affascinato da quella ragazza così coraggiosa e dedita al lavoro.
Si sposarono un anno dopo, nel 1895 dopo che Pierre riuscì infine a convincere la ostinata Marie a cedere alle sue avances.
Oltre ai tanti anni di lavoro insieme, questa coppia di scienziati diedero alla luce anche due figlie: Irène ed Eve, la prima delle quali divenne a sua volta premio Nobel.
I due coniugi dedicarono molto della loro vita alle ricerche sulla radioattività, cosa che nel 1903 gli conferì il Premio Nobel per la Fisica.
Pierre non potè invece ritirare il successivo Nobel quello per la Chimica consegnato a Marie per la scoperta di nuovi elementi, in quanto nel 1906 egli fu investito da un carro, lasciando un grande vuoto nel mondo della scienza e soprattutto nel cuore di Marie.
Marie Curie morì nel 1934, dopo anni di duro lavoro, che però segnarono la sua lunga dipartita.

Music on Stage

Bon Jovi – Always

This romeo is bleeding 
But you can’t see his blood 
It’s nothing but some feelings 
That this old dog kicked up 
It’s been raining since you left me 
Now I’m drowning in the flood 
You see I’ve always been a fighter 
But without you I give up 
Now I can’t sing a love song 
Like the way it’s meant to be 
Well, I guess I’m not that good anymore 
But baby, that’s just me 
And I will love you, baby – Always 
And I’ll be there forever and a day – Always 
I’ll be there till the stars don’t shine 
Till the heavens burst and 
The words don’t rhyme 
And I know when I die, you’ll be on my mind 
And I’ll love you – Always 
Now your pictures that you left behind 
Are just memories of a different life 
Some that made us laugh, some that made us cry 
One that made you have to say goodbye 
What I’d give to run my fingers through your hair 
To touch your lips, to hold you near 
When you say your prayers try to understand 
I’ve made mistakes, I’m just a man 
When he holds you close, when he pulls you near 
When he says the words you’ve been needing to hear 
I’ll wish I was him ’cause those words are mine 
To say to you till the end of time 
Yeah, I will love you baby – Always 
And I’ll be there forever and a day – Always 
If you told me to cry for you 
I could 
If you told me to die for you 
I would 
Take a look at my face 
There’s no price I won’t pay 
To say these words to you 
Well, there ain’t no luck 
In these loaded dice 
But baby if you give me just one more try 
We can pack up our old dreams 
And our old lives 
We’ll find a place where the sun still shines 
And I will love you, baby – Always 
And I’ll be there forever and a day – Always 
I’ll be there till the stars don’t shine 
Till the heavens burst and 
The words don’t rhyme 
And I know when I die, you’ll be on my mind 
And I’ll love you – Always