Daily Archives: February 11, 2014

Elizabet Taylor and Richard Button

A love that overwhelmed the way, one of the most beloved and tormented couple  ever: two marriages and two divorces for Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton, a love so exciting to have inspired even Fellini.

At one point, a girl sitting on the other side of the pool looked up from her book, she took off her sunglasses and looked at me. She was so extraordinarily beautiful that I almost laughed. -Richard Burton.

So he described  their first meeting, but almost not believe she did not even know had never happened, he was on the set of the colossal “Cleopatra” that the two met decisively, between a joke, a temolio and a dash of Cognac, the two had to play two lovers and ended up falling in love really.
Elizabeth had two divorces behind her and Richard was married, but the spark that broke out between them, carried them and consumed them with passion.

Richard came up to me and whispered to me : You’re too fat, but you have never said you’re a beautiful girl? <…> I thought, here is the usual intellectual actor trying to enchant . But then I saw that his hands were trembling , made me tenderly. He was human .                     – Elizabeth Taylor-

From there they began to tease him calling her on the set “Miss Tits ” and she softened when it was in full hangover .
Their love was not conventional , they  were both married, and they  were ” persecuted ” by the press, their love life already full of quarrels, passions , cars, villas and diamonds, was also punctuated by incredible movement and by many professional photographers .
According to the authors of the book ” Furious Love,” it was the desperate hunt Photographer in Via Veneto, in the period after Cleopatra , which inspired Fellini and his paparazzo from “La Dolce Vita” .
The two married in 1964, but only stayed together for ten years, remarried in 1975 but divorced again in 76 , despite both were married two more times , they continued to love each other incredibly .

Richard was the greatest love of my life. I always thought that we would get married for the third and final time. We loved each other desperately – Elizabeth Taylor –

I love you, gorgeous woman. If someone hurts you, send me a message. As long as you write “I need”, or just one magic word, “Elizabeth,” and I will arrive faster than sound. You know, of course, how I love you. You know, of course, how badly I treated you. But the fundamental truth, treacherous, murderous and unchangeable is that you and I are totally misunderstand … We operate on different wavelengths … I love you and always will love you. Come back to me soon as you can … – Richard Burton –

Un amore che travolse il modo, una delle coppie più amate e tormentate di sempre: due matrimoni e due divorzi per Elizabeth Taylor e Richard Burton, un amore così appassionante da aver ispirato anche Fellini.

A un certo punto, una ragazza seduta dall’altro lato della piscina alzò gli occhi dal suo libro, si tolse gli occhiali da sole e mi guardò. Era così straordinariamente bella che mi venne quasi da ridere. – Richard Burton –

Così lui descrisse il loro primo incontro, ma quasi a non crederci lei non ricordava neanche fosse mai avvenuto, fu sul set del Kolossal “Cleopatra” che i due si incontrarono decisamente, tra una battuta, un tremolio ed un goccio di Cognac, i due dovevano interpretare due amanti e finirono con l’innamorarsi realmente.
Elizabeth aveva già due divorzi alle spalle e Richard era sposato, ma la scintilla che scoppiò tra di loro, li travolse e li consumò di passione.

Richard mi si avvicinò e mi sussurrò: Sei troppo grassa, ma te l’hanno mai detto che sei una bellissima ragazza? <…> Pensai: ecco il solito attore intellettuale che prova a incantarmi. Ma poi vidi che le sue mani tremavano, mi fece tenerezza. Era umano.  – Elizabeth Taylor –

Da li iniziarono a punzecchiarsi sul set lui che la chiamava “Miss Tette” e lei che si inteneriva quando lo trovava in pieno dopo sbornia.
Il loro amore non fu convenzionale, entrambi erano ancora sposati, e furono “perseguitati” dalla stampa, la loro vita amorosa già costellata di litigi, passioni, macchine, ville e diamanti, era costellata anche da incredibili spostamenti e da numerosi fotografi.
Secondo gli autori del libro “Furious Love” fu proprio la caccia disperata dei fotografi in Via Veneto, nel periodo dopo Cleopatra, che ispirò Fellini ed il suo paparazzo de “La Dolce Vita”.
I due si sposarono nel 1964 ma rimasero insieme solo per dieci anni, si risposarono nel 1975 ma divorziarono nuovamente nel 76, nonostante entrambi si fossero sposati altre due volte, contunuarono incredibilmente ad amarsi.

Richard è stato il più grande amore della mia vita. Ho sempre pensato che ci saremmo sposati per la terza e ultima volta. Ci siamo amati disperatamente – Elizabeth Taylor –

Ti amo, donna stupenda. Se qualcuno ti fa del male, mandami un messaggio. Basta che tu scriva “Ho bisogno”, o una sola magica parola, “Elizabeth”, e arriverò più veloce del suono. Sai, di certo, quanto ti amo. Sai, di certo, quanto male ti ho trattato. Ma la verità fondamentale, perfida, assassina e immutabile è che io e te ci fraintendiamo totalmente… Funzioniamo su diverse lunghezze d’onda… Ti amo e sempre ti amerò. Torna da me prima che puoi… – Richard Burton –

Fonti:

La repubblica

Dagospia

“Furious Love” Elizabeth Taylor, Richard Burton: La storia d’amore del secolo di Sam Kashner, Nancy Shoenberger

Music on Stage

Ronan Keating – When you say nothing at all

“It’s amazing how you can speak right to my heart
without saying a word, you can light up the dark
try as I may, I can never explain
what I hear when you don’t say a thing

The smile on your face let’s me know that you need me
there’s a truth in your eyes saying you’ll never leave me
the touch of your hand says you’ll catch me wherever I fall
you say it best, when you say nothing at all

All day long I can hear people talking out loud
but when you hold me near you drown out the crowd
try as they may they can never define
what’s been said between your heart and mine

The smile on your face let’s me know that you need me
there’s a truth in your eyes saying you’ll never leave me
the touch of your hand says you’ll catch me wherever I fall
you say it best, when you say nothing at all

The smile on your face lets me know that you need me
there’s a truth in your eyes saying you’ll never leave me
the touch of your hand says you’ll catch me where ever I fall
you say it best when you say nothing at all

You say it best when you say nothing at all